S I N G A P O R E

Note: This blog post will include tips, notes, and reviews that are all based on my experience. Believe it or ignore it is all up to you.

bucket list (n); a list of things that one has not done before but wants to do before dying

I have made my own bucket list that consists a mixture of extremely impossible things and extremely petty stuffs. Little did I know that I’d be able to cross out one of the impossible ones immediately — to travel alone. I really didn’t made my list specific so it means that it didn’t matter where, I just have to be alone. I never got out of sight from my family before, so traveling alone — even if it’s just within the country — is categorized under the impossible list, but fate decided to give me a challenge.

1C75CB23-AFAB-40A2-BD3A-21AA14FCEAE4.JPG

A0C8C5F5-71A9-4BA2-B225-7CEA8A01865F

My first plane ride was five years ago. When I got the news that I’ll be given a trip as a gift, and that it’d be overseas, my first problem was the aircraft. It had been so long since I last rode an airplane and I’m not sure if I’m still brave enough to do so. But, oh well. Bucket list comes first.

It was an all-expense paid trip and right after I received the plane tickets and hotel reservation, I started planning for my trip. I kept on running over my plans for almost two weeks, repeating every single information I gathered just so I could confidently step in Singapore alone. My itinerary became so detailed that I should’ve just included schedules of my breathing and blinking as well.

It was a huge step out of my comfort zone when I reached the airport. My flight five years ago was a domestic one and I was with my family so I didn’t really had the need to ask around. But this time, I was alone in an international airport. I’m an extremely introverted person and being here alone with no single clue on what to do is a big challenge for me.

First time traveller tip #1: Take a deep breath, clench your teeth, ignore your worries, and ask for help. Worrying alone and taking guesses will take you nowhere. If you’re in an airport, like in my case, taking chances and not asking for help might lead to you missing your flight.

Singapore, for me, is a traveller-friendly place. Airport staffs are kind enough to answer all your queries and will definitely make you feel welcomed. And just as what I did before I depart for Singapore, I asked every staff in every station I passed on what to do or where should I go next.

First time traveller tip #2: You’ll definitely need an internet connection. That means, it’s either a sim card or a rentable pocket-wifi. I chose the former. If you’re going to opt for the sim card as well, make sure you’d choose the M1 Tourist Sim Card (photo below) that contains 100GB of cellular data. I bought it for $12 SGD in a 7-Eleven store near the hotel where I stayed. 

E88C81C7-0739-462A-BECF-C72C417381E2.JPG

Important Note: There’s another tourist sim card. It’s by Singtel (photo below) and it’s for $38 SGD. It contains 3GB of cellular data. If you know how to work it or to top-up your data, then by all means go ahead and buy anything you’d please. I made a mistake and bought this first. I went around the airport and found no traces of the M1 Tourist Sim Card, turns out I just needed to search for it diligently. I didn’t know how to work the sim card so I decided to buy another one. I wasted $38 SGD just because I wasn’t patient and diligent enough to search for the one I really needed.

DADDB9AF-FB5D-457F-9C48-55FA82B169D0.JPG

My plan includes using the public transportation as my primary means of traveling but as soon as I arrived at Changi Airport, it started raining heavily. I didn’t have an umbrella with me so I had to wait for an hour before it stopped. I was starting to consider on riding a taxi, but I wanted a cheaper option, so I still rode the MRT. I wanted to know Singapore’s way of life, so I chose a public transportation for a start. Being a first time traveller, it is a scary move, plus the factor that I’m alone with no one to turn to, makes it even scarier.

First time traveller tip #3: Singapore’s MRT is not that hard to understand. It’s pretty useful due to the fact that almost all the hot-places in Singapore are connected, if not, near an MRT station. I’ve read that if you’ll be mostly using the MRT, it’s better to get a tourist MRT card than buy a standard MRT ticket. Also, there’s an app that you can download for easier understanding of Singapore’s MRT.

DBBC33EF-881E-4264-B794-D781C325EA10.JPG       3F180A3C-0A2D-41C9-9838-AB747884C191.JPG

IMG_2589.jpg

I didn’t know much about Singapore so I just listed the famous landmarks for my first travel experience. I first went to Marina Sands Skypark Observation Deck. My plan is to catch the sunset at 7PM but I got lost around Marina Bay hotel looking for the ticketing counter.

EAD9F0CC-D6D0-4E23-93D9-832B9E115686.JPG

How to get there via MRT: Take the nearest MRT near your place and find a route towards Bayfront Station. Again, the MRT app will definitely help you in figuring out your way.

Ticket prices: It’s $23 SGD for a standard adult ticket. Check out their website for full list of prices.

Where to purchase the ticket: There are other ticketing counters where you could buy the ticket, but I bought mine at the Sands Box Office. You’ll find it right before you take the elevator to the top. The list of ticketing counters are also available on their website.

What to expect: There’s no time limit on how long you’d be allowed to stay, but once you’re on the deck, you’d have to make your way through crowds to take a decent city skyline photo. At the top you’d see the Singapore Flyer, Art Science Museum, and Gardens by the Bay. There’s also a water and lights show at around 8:00PM.

Review: Spending $23 SGD just to take photos isn’t a good idea. What’s a better deal is to dine at CE LA VI. It will be more expensive than spending $23 SGD on a ticket, but think about it. Dining at CE LA VI has more perks than just walking around the observation deck. You’d get to have a fancy meal and see the skyline as well. After all, CE LA VI is also located one level above the observation deck. Now let’s not forget the water and lights show. It will last for around 10-15 minutes. A greater way to watch it is to go down the deck. I am not sure of the best location where to watch the lights but I think it’s somewhere near The Shoppes. Don’t worry. The water lights show is free of charge. I think it shows something about Singapore’s history, but I can’t be so sure. I watched from above and deeply regretted it. It’s entertaining, yes. But if it has music, you won’t hear a single thing. The water jets doesn’t go high as well. Watching from the deck is one of my terrible decisions.

First time traveller tip #4: Search the time of the sunset beforehand. It will help you plan and adjust your timetable. Also, there’s a downloadable Marina Bay Sands map on their website. If you need something bigger, you may ask for a map at the concierge.

I started my second day with a trip to the Art Science Museum.

First time traveller tip #5: Make your trip personal. If you’re traveling alone like me, make sure to go to every places you like regardless if it’s famous or not. 

I love going to art museums and the exhibits presented in this museum are definitely worth the visit.

BF069AB3-ADE5-4B45-A0E5-C20DE99FE910.JPG       DEBEC672-360A-4A21-8655-8B7A47FF1B45.JPG

How to get there via MRT: Art Science Museum is located next to The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands. Therefore, you’d take the same MRT you took and alight at Bayfront Station.

Ticket prices: Ticket prices depends on what exhibit you’d like to see. They offer a single-exhibit ticket, double-exhibit ticket, and an all-access exhibit ticket. By the time I was there, there were only two exhibits, so I purchased the double-exhibit ticket at $32 SGD.

Where to purchase the ticket: I bought mine at the basement level of the Art Science Museum. There are other ticketing counters on their website but I think the one at the museum itself is the most accessible place.

Note: There’s an ArtScience Museum chatbot on FaceBook Messenger. It’s a bit easier to use rather than to navigate thru their website.

What to expect: Beware of kids. Lol. Kidding aside, Future Meets World Exhibit is a must-see. You’ll enter a digital world of arts where everything is extremely fascinating. If you’re a fan of Marvel Cinematic Universe, then you have to be here. The Marvel Cinematic Universe exhibit will only run until the 30th of September this year. All in all, I think it took me an hour and a half to roam around the museum.

Biased Review: This is obviously my favorite part of the trip. I am in love and fascinated with all the digital works even without reading their descriptions. Once I’ve read the artworks’ description, it gives me more and overflowing emotions that it makes me want to just stay and stare at it all day. The Marvel Cinematic Universe exhibit is the main reason of this trip. It is a heaven for all MCU fans. I know I must’ve been over-reacting, but once I stepped inside, I tried so hard to fight back my tears, squeals, and gasps. And once you’re done with the exhibit, it will be impossible to keep your wallets closed at the sight of the beautiful Marvel merchandises waiting to be yours.

Honest and Non-Biased Review: I’m not sure but I think Future World is a fixed exhibit (correct me if I’m wrong). If you’re a fan or into digital arts, a trip to this place is worth the while. If you’re a fan of Marvel Cinematic Universe, then this is the right place for you. If you like both, then your $32 SGD will not go to waste.

First time traveller tip #6: You don’t want to be hungry, do you? Before you visit a place you know you’d spent a lot of time into, make sure you know the nearest place where you could grab a bite right after your adventure.

First time traveller tip #7: If you’re not fond of crowds, make sure to arrive at the place as early as possible.

Now here’s a real pain in the ass. I wanted to roam around the famous Orchard Road, but didn’t really know what to buy or where to go. So instead, I decided to go visit a cafe featured in some of the Korean dramas I watched (this is not the exact filming location, it’s just a Singapore branch of the cafe featured in the shows). It went all wrong when I decided to get off at Orchard Station rather than at Somerset Station.

AE2A015C-14E4-4967-A5CF-F4EE630F6CAA.JPG  EA67A36A-4778-4FE8-A26D-DA53E3998565.JPG

First time traveller tip #8: Orchard Road has a variety of shops. If you’re looking for a specific item or shop, make sure you know where it is exactly located. There are two possible MRT stations where you could get off, Orchard Station and Somerset Station. Be 100% sure where you’ll get off or you’d end up walking for half an hour.

For my third day, I’m supposed to take a brunch at Platform 1094 (a Harry Potter themed restaurant), go back to Art Science Museum (because I lost all my photos and videos), and roam around the Gardens by the Bay at night. But, I woke up hearing a light tap on my windows and was surprised to see heavy rainfall. I cancelled all my plans and decided to just stay indoors and grab something to eat nearby.

Cons: Going to Platform 1094 is the second in my go-to list, next to the Marvel exhibit. I wanted to shop some souvenir items from Gardens by the Bay and eat local foods at Satay by the Bay.

Pros: I got to save money by staying indoors and keeping close to the hotel’s vicinity. I got to enjoy my sim card’s 100GB mobile internet and was able to download 17 Marvel movies, and a few episode of a Korean drama. The greatest advantage of the heavy rainfall is having to stay indoors at all times, and having to stay indoors means I got to enjoy my hotel room to the fullest.

It was regrettable not being able to do everything I planned. Instead of sulking, I think it’s a sign that I have to go back to Singapore for another fun-filled adventure.

First time traveller tip #9: Singapore uses a Type G socket. If you want to be sure, bring a type G socket adaptor. The hotel I stayed in only has one universal socket and the rest are all type G sockets. It also has 4 USB sockets which is a great relief for me.

First time traveller tip #10: Allot budget for every item you’d purchase so you won’t be shocked at every purchase you’d make.

First time traveller tip #11 (the most important): Read beforehand and ask around when you get there.

Note: I noticed a small detail during my MRT travels. People walk on the left side, and stand at the left side of the escalator as well. This is important to know so that you won’t be a nuisance to local and busy people. I’ve read an article saying that there’s no general rule about whether to walk or stand on the left or right. Busy areas usually walk and stand on the left , but tourist areas usually don’t follow a trend. They walk and stand wherever they please. And be careful of the escalators, it’s pretty fast. Lol.

To sum it all up, for someone who travelled for the first time, completely alone and overseas, Singapore is a good start. The biggest downfall of traveling alone is that you won’t get any OOTDs at all, unless you can approach a random stranger and ask them to take a photo of you. But if you’re a bit picky about your photos (like me lol), I don’t think you can just let a random stranger take a photo of you. Aside from that, being alone means you can make decisions all by yourself. And if that decision fails, you only have yourself to blame.

Traveling alone also keeps your mind active. You’d take yourself to places you’ll want to see and your mind will unexpectedly make you see and realize things you haven’t thought about when you’re at home/work.

Don’t be afraid to take yourself out of your comfort zone and discover the world’s beauty.  There’s more to life than seeing the comforts of your walls.

Leave a comment